Food Rules

Michael Pollan has done it again.  He has some wonderful  recommendations on diet and healthy eating  in his new book  Food Rules. For those of us who are tired of reading labels and trying to decide if  “low fat” is better than “lite” or if the caloric content is more important than  the nutritional value,  here  is the  answer in 64 simple rules.  He gives sensible advice that is easy to remember.  Here are a few of my favorite quotes.

“If it came from a plant, eat it; if it was made in a plant, don’t.”

“It’s not food if it arrived through the window of your car.”

“Avoid food products that contain more than five ingredients.”

I will no longer gaze at the labels on the sides of packages.  Most of my food will come with no packages or labels  and hopefully much of it will not have traveled long distances to arrive in my kitchen.

3 Responses to Food Rules

  1. cathy says:

    Very good rules. I’m learning to live by them most of the time. However, that hamburger is making my mouth water!

  2. Dave says:

    do you have any of your own food rules to add?

  3. suelove says:

    Sit down to eat and learn to cook

