The Ultimate Healthy Diet

I have finally found what I consider the ultimate healthy diet in Michael Pollan’s book “In Defense of Food”. He states it very simply:

Eat food, Not too much, Mostly plants

I have tried multiple diets including the “Diet for a Small Planet” approach by Fances Moore Lappe to eat complementary combinations of food. I have tried the low carbohydrate diet, the low fat diet, the no red meat diet and even the grapefruit diet. I scanned labels in the grocery store to learn the nutritional content of foods and to figure out the science of eating a healthy diet.

After reading this book, I buy mostly produce which comes with no packaging and no labels to confuse me with nutritional content. I am liberated by the statement “eat food, not too much, mostly plants.” It is so easy!

5 Responses to The Ultimate Healthy Diet

  1. davelove says:

    what is in season now?

  2. suelove says:

    Kale, lettuce, yellow squash, cherry tomatoes, turnips, onions, cabbage, beets, blueberries, peaches, plums.

  3. mikelove says:

    i obey the same diet, except replace plants with burritos.

  4. suelove says:

    Sounds a lot like the Diet for a Small Planet. Lots of beans and rice in the same meal.

  5. davelove says:

    i have seen fields of burritos growing in the mission, no joke. you can join a co-op and harvest them for free!

